India Currency: Indian Rupee ₨ INR

Indian Rupee

Indian Rupee INR

The Indian rupee (Hindi: रुपया) is the currency of India.

The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India. The most commonly used symbols (abbreviated) for the rupee are Rs, ₨ and रू.

The ISO 4217 code for the Indian rupee is INR.

The modern rupee is subdivided into 100 paise (singular paisa) or in laymans term One Rupee is equal to 100 Paise

Indian Coins in various denominations

Indian Coins

More Information about Indian Coins
India became independent on 15 August 1947 and was left with a legacy of non-decimal coinage. One rupee was divided into 16 annas or 64 pice, and each anna was equal to 4 pice. In 1957, India shifted to the decimal system, but for a short period both decimal and non-decimal coins were in circulation. To distinguish between the two, the coins minted between 1957 and 1964 have the legend "Naya Paisa" ("new" paisa). The denominations in circulation were 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 25, 50 paise and 1 rupee.


Indian Rupees



Dilip said...

My friend residing at Mumbai want to visit Malaysia & Singapore for one week in next week. How much Indian Rupees he can keep with him while leaving Mumbai Airport? How much duty free items he can bring with him?

Anonymous said...

i am coming to india in december. I am currently residing in australia. Can I bring Australian dollars to India and convert it at the airport or some money exchange area?

Why is Jackfruit Banned on Flights?

Transporting fruit aboard flights is subject to various regulations and restrictions, which differ by country and airline. Generally, fres...